Where memories are made: The Stellenbosch Days

Image

Just like any girl leaving high school and moving onto university, I thought I knew everything and of course everyone; however I was very wrong. Day one in Academia in Stellenbosch I was met with so many new faces and the numerous crazy personalities that I would come to love over time. Coming from an all girls school, the most overpowering emotion was excitement; the excitement of being part of a co-ed private residence where boys were now an everyday occurrence.

Stellenbosch taught me so many weird and wonderful things. Firstly, it taught me to never miss out on an opportunity to get involved in the traditions of such a small university town. From gumboot dancing in “Vensters” to cheering on the trolley races, from lectures to lying on the Koelbaai beach; and lastly, from late night visits to the Terrace to the entertaining encounters with the local, toothless street dwellers. These are the memories that will never be forgotten.

During my three years in Stellenbosch I had to learn a lot about who I am as a person. I know that sounds cliché but it is true. After getting the necessary marks in matric, I decided to enrol as a BComm student in Management Science. This was a silly decision considering I was never a fan of Maths and had never done accounting before. After a few weeks of lectures, it became frighteningly clear that this degree was not for me.  After the first six months, I thought it was time to reassess where my life would be headed. I was never going to be the accountant sitting behind a desk so I decided to try a BA in Political Science, Philosophy and Economics.

Although it may have taken some time fumbling around trying to decide what I wanted to study, I finally found something that I was interested in rather than studying something because people told me it would look good on my CV.

I guess it’s true what they say, university days are a chance to mess up and make the mistakes that you need to learn from. It is where you will build life-long friendships based on silly moments that turn into the best memories.

One response to “Where memories are made: The Stellenbosch Days

Leave a Reply

